My name is Fiona, and I self diagnose!

Yes, I admit it. I self diagnose every ailment I incur. I’m not proud of it, but I know I’m not alone.  Here’s the thing: I know that there are hundreds of doctors just in my city who have gone to school for several years who are willing to meet with me and tell me what’s wrong with me. I know this! Every month I pay a deductible that comes directly out of my paycheck and yet, I self diagnose. I self diagnose! I go on Google or WebMD or some other site and try to figure out what’s going on with me. This is why I self diagnose: I don’t want to face the truth about myself. I also can admit to not wanting to pay for someone to tell me what I already know. I already know I have a common cold, I already know I’m fat! I already know this! I fear what I don’t know, and this is why I self diagnose.  Nobody wants to hear the truth about themselves. To be honest doctors and always pleasant when you have gingivitis or diabetes. I know I’m not alone! You know what, I also don’t like to be inconvenienced! That’s it! I don’t like being inconvenienced! Sickness is an inconvenience.  When you’re a busy wife and mom and you work full time and you try to have a social life AND you’re trying to pursue your dreams there’s just no time to be sick! There’s no time to take off work, and go to the doctor, wait 30 minutes to be seen, be seen for only 10 minutes, then get slapped with a $40 bill.  So I self diagnose. With Google, and WebMD Ask a doctor, Pintrest (yes, Pintrest), I figure out what ‘s going on with me and keep it moving.  I’m not saying its right and of course, if there was something medically serious going on with me I’m going to a REAL doctor.  Does anyone else go through this? Let me know your (not too harsh) thoughts.

 

-Fee

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

