We’re Better Together

Sunday evening while my husband and I were folding clothes, he became offended by something I was doing; as he folded an article of clothing and placed it in my reach, I picked it up and re-folded it! He became really offended by this! LOL!! With my actions, he interpreted that the way he was folding wasn’t good enough and that my way was the “right” way. Granted he was rolling and tucking and really not folding, but I digress.  So I said to him, “Me re-folding the clothes after you’ve folded them is the equivalent of you adding additional seasons during or after I’ve prepared a meal, I hate that, but I can’t deny the fact that the meals tastes better after you’ve “re-seasoned” it.

What can we take from this? Everything isn’t “right” or “wrong”.  Sometimes, there’s a “better” way to do something, a more polished way, a more tasteful way, a more seasoned way and complete way!

Now just from the first paragraph, I’m sure you’ve gathered who does what in my household.  My husband is the best cook ever! God knew exactly what I needed when he provided me with a cooking husband.  That’s not to say I can’t cook; I’ve mastered making rice, baking chicken, instant grits, cereal and milk (I kid, I kid!), “You name it” He actually enjoys cooking so who am I to stop him right?  Now I’m not of fan of folding towels and fitted sheets, but thanks to Pintrest,  I’ve mastered folding the sheets so they all fit in the closet (better way, not “right” way).

What I’ve learned is you can’t be easily offended in life if you want to truly be successful. Nowadays, I can admit I need all the help I can get! If I see a mom whose kids are making good a grades, are thoughtful, and well mannered, I’m going connect with her to see what her secret it is!! If there’s a couple who manages their personal finances better than my husband and I, please believe we’re going to connect over lunch!

My meals are hit and miss with the kids, but my husband consistently makes delicious  plate-clearing food that’s sopped up. Who am I to get offended if he adds a little season to my meal? The truth is, we all need a little help, but pride stops us from asking ultimately resulting in messy towel closet and an unfinished meals- Wasted Resources.

Learn in the beginning what your strengths and weaknesses are, then connect with people who have the strengths you need to become successful! Nobody starts out as the head chef! Be the prep cook! Be the sous chef! We all need each other!

Romans 12:21-22 says this,”The eye cannot say to the hand,”I don’t need you!” And the head cannot say to the feet, “I don’t need you!” On the contrary, those parts of the body that seem to be weaker are indispensable.”

Let’s remember this passage this week as we pursue a dreams and goal and define success in our lives; everybody needs somebody to help them along the way and there’s always someone who’s pursued and attained what you’re after! Connect with them, glean from them and understand that we’re better together!

 

-Fee

 

2 thoughts on “We’re Better Together

Add yours

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

