The New Is Here!

I feel alright tonight! For the first time in a long time, I am in a place of contentment.  There are so many exciting things happening in my life and I am finally walking out my God given purpose.  About 3 weeks ago, I accepted another hat, Youth Pastor. Me and my husband share this assignment at the church we attend locally in Tampa.  I never imagined that one day I would be ministering to young people and leading them to Christ.  I struggled during my walk as a teenager and young adult, and I don’t do everything perfect now in my thirties, but I’m excited!! -Now I’m excited.  It was overwhelming at first, being called “Pastor”, but each day, I’m learning to embrace who I am.  I’ve always had the desire to help people and see them be the best, I just never imagined being where I am now.

So this Friday, I’ll be with the ladies of the ministry for our monthly women’s group.  Last month was my first time and this Friday I’ll be sharing a message, not just any message, my story.  This is pivotal for me because there was once a time in my life when I was ashamed of my past. I condemned myself for a very long time.  I allowed my sin to silence my song.  Now I have no fear because I’m not the same person I was 6 years ago, and most of all, I’ve been forgiven and I’ve forgiven myself.  I used to beat myself up for allowing myself to go down the path I did, but I know without a doubt that God’s hand of protection was on my life.  So now I’m on a mission.  I’m on assignment by God to share with every woman, boy, girl, and man, that there is no condemnation on Jesus Christ.  So now I’m living the forgiven life and its great! I didn’t get to this place over night. This is what I’ve learned during the process:

  1. I’ve been forgiven, period. 2. I am NOT my sin. 3. I am loved.

Once we confess our sins and repent, God forgives us.  So why can’t we forgive ourselves? The reason why I sabotaged so many of the good things and good relationships in my life was the fact that I felt undeserving.  I felt like Nothing good in life was truly meant for me because my tainted past and if anything good did happen for me I would soon lose it anyway.  This is a lie.

If I can truly transparent, I found comfort in my sorrow.  I found comfort in crying uncontrollably over things that happened years ago, things God had already forgiven me for.  The truth is I had no peace because I wasn’t praying. I didn’t think God would hear my prayers. I was very self-condemning. But God does hear my prayers and He hears yours too! There’s nothing you can present to God that He doesn’t already know about.

What’s stopping you from accepting God’s forgiveness and forgiving yourself?  What issue or situation do you need to take to God in prayer?  Be encouraged tonight knowing that God will never leave your or forsake you.  He’s not waiting to punish us.  He loved the world so much that he gave His only son Jesus Christ to die for your sins past, present and future.

Romans 8:1 says this: “There is therefore now no condemnation to those who are in Christ Jesus, who do not walk according to the flesh, but according to the Spirit.  2 Corinthians 5:17 says this:  “Therefore, if anyone is in Christ, the new creation has come: The old has gone, the new is here!”  The new is here!  That means everything associated with my past is gone! That’s something to get excited about! I’m a new creation! I can’t have the same mentality of the old creation. I can’t have the same emotional episodes of the old creation. I can’t operate the way the old creation operated. Listen when you realize that you’re new, and that your newness doesn’t revert, something happens!! You walk differently, you approach differently, you live differently, you LOVE differently!!

Take some time to write down the issues and thoughts that plague your mind concerning the old you. Then, hold the list up and tear it up! That’s not you anymore! The old has gone, the new is here! Recite that verse anytime you find yourself going to a dark place mentally. Today, make a decision to continue moving forward in Christ. Remember, you are forgiven, you are not your sin, and you are a new creation!

 

-Fee

2 thoughts on “The New Is Here!

Add yours

  1. This is beautiful Fiona. Your story? Hmmm seems like God is trying to get us to share our story so that He can get the glory, instead of us hiding behind our story in guilt and shame. This seems to be a very interesting season. Interesting in a good way. Congrats on you and Michael’s new position. May yall lead our youth not only into the presence of God, but also into their God ordained destiny’s. Proud of you and love you momma.

    Like

Leave a Reply

Blog at WordPress.com.

Up ↑

